This is the "General Legal Resources" page of the "Legal Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Legal Resources  

Legal research resources: reference and referral
Last Updated: Jul 19, 2017 URL: http://arcadia.libguides.com/legal Print Guide RSS Updates

General Legal Resources Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Legal Books from the Library Catalog

Cover Art
Black's Law Dictionary - A. Bryan Garner (Editor-In-Chief)
Call Number: 340.03 B
ISBN: 9780314613004
Publication Date: 2014-05-01

Cover Art
Nolo's Guide to Social Security Disability - David A. Morton III,
Call Number: 368.42 N
ISBN: 9781413322231
Publication Date: 2016-03-31

Cover Art
Plan Your Estate - Denis Clifford
Call Number: 346.73 P
ISBN: 9781413322859
Publication Date: 2016-04-18

Cover Art
Becoming a U. S. Citizen - Ilona Bray
Call Number: 323.6 B
ISBN: 9781413320633
Publication Date: 2014-09-30

Cover Art
The Small Business Start-Up Kit for California - Peri Pakroo
Call Number: 346.974 S
ISBN: 9781413322316
Publication Date: 2016-02-29

Cover Art
How to Write a Business Plan - Mike McKeever
Call Number: 658.15 H
ISBN: 9781413320787
Publication Date: 2014-11-15

Cover Art
Legal Research - Stephen Elias; Editors of Nolo
Call Number: 340.072 L
ISBN: 9781413321821
Publication Date: 2015-08-15

General Legal Resources

  • American Law Sources On-Line
    Straightforward, easy to use website contains charts with links to U.S., Canadian, and Mexican primary legal materials--including constitutions, codes, court opinions, court rules, etc.
  • Cornell Legal Information Institute
    Comprehensive academic website with links to U.S. and state constitutions, codes, and court opinions. Also provides legal information by topic.
  • FindLaw
    Wide collection of legal resources; includes legal information by topic; links to the U.S. Code, recent Supreme Court decisions, legal forms, links to state laws, legal guides from the American Bar Association.
  • Justia.com
    Web portal to legal information; includes legal information by topic, links to state and federal government information, courts, laws, and forms. Also a list of law schools by state and a list of legal blogs by topic.
  • Nolo.com
    Website to Nolo self-help publications--also provides a plain English legal dictionary and free information on a variety of legal topics.
  • Public Library of Law
    Free access to case law, statutes, regulations, court rules, and constitutions for all 50 states and federal jurisdictions; must register to access case law. Forms are available for a fee.
  • USA.gov
    U.S. Government's Official Web Portal--search engine for U.S. government information.
  • LawHelpCA
    LawHelpCA is California’s official and free legal resource.
    RELIABLE information about common legal issues, written by reputable sources on 16 general topics and over 140 specific subtopics
    UPDATED directory of legitimate and pre-screened organizations that offer free or low-cost legal advice and representation

Legal Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

Los Angeles Law Library

LA Law Library is committed to providing the best possible resources for legal research.  Established in 1891, the LA Law Library has provided information to the legal community, government officials, and the public for over 100 years.  With nearly 1,000,000 books and documents, it is the second largest public law library in the United States.

 

Legal Podcasts

Listen to some audio stories from LexisNexis.

Loading Loading...
blank padding

Legislative Process and Legal Literacy

  • California Legislative Process
    Information on the California legislative process, also includes a glossary of legislative terms from the California State Senate website.
  • Life Cycle of a Bill in California
    Another helpful guide to the legislative process in California, from the California State Capitol Museum.
  • Federal Legislative Process
    Information from the Library of Congress on the federal legislative process; how a bill becomes a law.
  • Federal Legislative Process for Kids
    Information on the federal legislative process for kids, with varying levels of difficulty for different age groups including young learners, grade school, middle school, and high school.
  • California State Bar Guide to Legal Literacy
    A guide to understanding the U.S. legal system, includes information on how laws are enacted and how cases, both civil and criminal, proceed through the courts. Also includes a legal glossary.
 

Contact Us

Arcadia Public Library
www.ArcadiaCA.gov/Library

20 West Duarte Road
Arcadia, CA 91006
626-821-5569
ref247@ci.arcadia.ca.us

Hours:
M-Th 10-9
F-Sa 10-6

CHAT LIVE WITH A LIBRARIAN

Did we miss something?

Click below to submit a link you think would be useful on this page.

Browse Subject Guides

Arcadia, CA Local Guide
by Yvonne Ng - Last Updated Aug 29, 2017
Arcadia is in a suburban area, located about 17 miles northeast of downtown Los Angeles. The city was incorporated in 1903.
228 views this year
Career Resources
by Yvonne Ng - Last Updated Oct 20, 2016
Resources to help in a job search.
48 views this year
English Language Learning Resources
by Melissa Camaiore - Last Updated Sep 7, 2017
English Language Learning classes, materials, and more.
130 views this year
Fiction Readers' Advisory
by David Dolim - Last Updated Jun 7, 2017
Resources to help you find that great next read!
169 views this year
Government Information
by Danielle Guerrero - Last Updated Jul 13, 2017
Resources for local, state, and federal information.
128 views this year
Health Resources
by David Dolim - Last Updated Oct 20, 2016
84 views this year
Legal Resources
by Yvonne Ng - Last Updated Jul 19, 2017
Legal research resources: reference and referral
35 views this year
Parenting
by Debbie Marks - Last Updated Oct 20, 2016
Resources for raising your children.
37 views this year
Summer Reading Program for Kids and Youth
by Petra Morris - Last Updated Jun 9, 2017
Information about the reading program and summer events for children ages 14 years and younger.
1,218 views this year
Teen Digital Media Lab
by David Dolim, Debbie Marks, Yvonne Ng - Last Updated Oct 20, 2016
Resources to help you learn how to use software available in the teen multimedia lab.
30 views this year
Teen Resources
by Debbie Marks - Last Updated Aug 12, 2017
What teens might want or need.
109 views this year
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip