This is the "Courts and Government" page of the "Legal Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Legal Resources  

Legal research resources: reference and referral
Last Updated: Jul 19, 2017 URL: http://arcadia.libguides.com/legal Print Guide RSS Updates

Courts and Government Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Legal Books from the Library Catalog

Cover Art
Black's Law Dictionary - A. Bryan Garner (Editor-In-Chief)
Call Number: 340.03 B
ISBN: 9780314613004
Publication Date: 2014-05-01

Cover Art
Nolo's Guide to Social Security Disability - David A. Morton III,
Call Number: 368.42 N
ISBN: 9781413322231
Publication Date: 2016-03-31

Cover Art
Plan Your Estate - Denis Clifford
Call Number: 346.73 P
ISBN: 9781413322859
Publication Date: 2016-04-18

Cover Art
Becoming a U. S. Citizen - Ilona Bray
Call Number: 323.6 B
ISBN: 9781413320633
Publication Date: 2014-09-30

Cover Art
The Small Business Start-Up Kit for California - Peri Pakroo
Call Number: 346.974 S
ISBN: 9781413322316
Publication Date: 2016-02-29

Cover Art
How to Write a Business Plan - Mike McKeever
Call Number: 658.15 H
ISBN: 9781413320787
Publication Date: 2014-11-15

Cover Art
Legal Research - Stephen Elias; Editors of Nolo
Call Number: 340.072 L
ISBN: 9781413321821
Publication Date: 2015-08-15

Local County/City Resources

  • Arcadia, California Municipal Code
  • California Local Codes and Charters
    Links to the LA County and City Municipal Codes; this site provides links to all of California's city and county ordinances and charters, compiled by the UC Berkeley Institute of Governmental Studies.
  • California Public Law Libraries
    Official website of the California Council of County Law Librarians; includes link to AskNow, an online virtual reference program; a mini research class; links to self-help centers, legal links and a statewide directory of California County Law Libraries.

California: Constitution, Laws & Regulations, Agencies

Federal: Constitution, Laws & Regulations, Agencies

  • U.S. Constitution
    Cornell University Law School's Legal Information Institute provides online text version of the United States Constitution.
  • U.S. Constitution
    This Archives.gov site provides online text version of the United States Constitution and an image of the Constitution itself. For additional analysis and interpretation done by the Congressional Research Service, see the GPO/FDSys link below.
  • Thomas
    Legislative information from the Library of Congress; contains bill summaries from 1973 to the present and full-text bills from 1989 to the present.
  • United States Code
    Laws of the United States; allows you to search or browse the U.S. Code.
  • United States Code
    Laws of the United States; allows you to search or browse the U.S. Code. The Office of the Law Revision Counsel prepares and publishes the United States Code, which is a consolidation and codification by subject matter of the general and permanent laws of the United States.
  • U.S. Government Printing Office, Federal Digital System (FDSys)
    Government Printing Office GPO web portal-provides links to a wide range of federal government information, such as the U.S. Constitution, the U.S. Code, U.S. Statutes at Large, the Federal Register, the Code of Federal Regulations, etc.
  • Code of Federal Regulations
    Text of the regulations promulgated by federal agencies.
  • Code of Federal Regulations (Annual Edition)
    Text of the regulations promulgated by federal agencies.
  • Federal Register
    Updates the Code of Federal Regulations. Published by the Office of the Federal Register, National Archives and Records Administration (NARA), the Federal Register is the official daily publication for rules, proposed rules, and notices of Federal agencies and organizations, as well as executive orders and other presidential documents.
  • A-Z Index of U.S. Government Departments & Agencies
    Federal agency directories. This USA.gov site allows you to browse agencies alphabetically.
  • Federal Agency Directory
    This Louisiana State University website allows you to browse federal departments, i.e. Dept. of Education, Dept. of Homeland Security, Dept. of Health and Human Services, for all agencies, offices and divisions within that department.

California: Courts

  • California Courts
    Official website for all California state courts--links to the CA Supreme Court, CA Courts of Appeal, and Superior Courts in every county; links to Judicial Council Forms, Court Rules and opinions from the California Supreme Court and Courts of Appeal from 1850 to present.
  • Los Angeles County Superior Court
    Official website for Los Angeles Superior Court; divided into sections, including: civil, family, probate, small claims, traffic.
  • Case Information for California Supreme Court and Courts of Appeal
    Information about cases pending before the CA Supreme Court and CA Courts of Appeal.
  • California State Court Rules
    California Rules of Court; rules that apply in all Superior Courts in California.
  • Local Rules
    Links to the local rules for all superior courts in California (each county has rules that apply only in its county).

Federal: Courts

 

Contact Us

Arcadia Public Library
www.ArcadiaCA.gov/Library

20 West Duarte Road
Arcadia, CA 91006
626-821-5569
ref247@ci.arcadia.ca.us

Hours:
M-Th 10-9
F-Sa 10-6

CHAT LIVE WITH A LIBRARIAN

Did we miss something?

Click below to submit a link you think would be useful on this page.

Browse Subject Guides

24/7 Homework Help
by Petra Morris - Last Updated Dec 1, 2017
Find useful web resources to assist with homework and online research.
0 views this year
Arcadia, CA Local Guide
by Yvonne Ng - Last Updated Aug 29, 2017
Arcadia is in a suburban area, located about 17 miles northeast of downtown Los Angeles. The city was incorporated in 1903.
306 views this year
Career Resources
by Yvonne Ng - Last Updated Oct 20, 2016
Resources to help in a job search.
51 views this year
English Language Learning Resources
by Melissa Camaiore - Last Updated Sep 7, 2017
English Language Learning classes, materials, and more.
167 views this year
Fiction Readers' Advisory
by David Dolim - Last Updated Jun 7, 2017
Resources to help you find that great next read!
244 views this year
Government Information
by Danielle Guerrero - Last Updated Oct 4, 2017
Resources for local, state, and federal information.
151 views this year
Health Resources
by David Dolim - Last Updated Oct 20, 2016
106 views this year
Legal Resources
by Yvonne Ng - Last Updated Jul 19, 2017
Legal research resources: reference and referral
47 views this year
Parenting
by Debbie Marks - Last Updated Oct 20, 2016
Resources for raising your children.
46 views this year
Summer Reading Program for Kids and Youth
by Petra Morris - Last Updated Jun 9, 2017
Information about the reading program and summer events for children ages 14 years and younger.
1,229 views this year
Teen Digital Media Lab
by David Dolim, Debbie Marks, Yvonne Ng - Last Updated Oct 20, 2016
Resources to help you learn how to use software available in the teen multimedia lab.
39 views this year
Teen Resources
by Debbie Marks - Last Updated Aug 12, 2017
What teens might want or need.
184 views this year
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip