This is the "Self-Help" page of the "Legal Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Legal Resources  

Legal research resources: reference and referral
Last Updated: Jul 19, 2017 URL: http://arcadia.libguides.com/legal Print Guide RSS Updates

Self-Help Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Legal Books from the Library Catalog

Cover Art
Black's Law Dictionary - A. Bryan Garner (Editor-In-Chief)
Call Number: 340.03 B
ISBN: 9780314613004
Publication Date: 2014-05-01

Cover Art
Nolo's Guide to Social Security Disability - David A. Morton III,
Call Number: 368.42 N
ISBN: 9781413322231
Publication Date: 2016-03-31

Cover Art
Plan Your Estate - Denis Clifford
Call Number: 346.73 P
ISBN: 9781413322859
Publication Date: 2016-04-18

Cover Art
Becoming a U. S. Citizen - Ilona Bray
Call Number: 323.6 B
ISBN: 9781413320633
Publication Date: 2014-09-30

Cover Art
The Small Business Start-Up Kit for California - Peri Pakroo
Call Number: 346.974 S
ISBN: 9781413322316
Publication Date: 2016-02-29

Cover Art
How to Write a Business Plan - Mike McKeever
Call Number: 658.15 H
ISBN: 9781413320787
Publication Date: 2014-11-15

Cover Art
Legal Research - Stephen Elias; Editors of Nolo
Call Number: 340.072 L
ISBN: 9781413321821
Publication Date: 2015-08-15

Self-Help Sites

  • LawHelpCA
    LawHelpCA is California’s official and free legal resource.
    This is another great place to start for self-help information. The website provides information on a wide variety of topics and provides links to other online resources, court services, sliding scale legal aid and lawyer referral services. The website can be translated into many different languages; a list of languages is on the website.
    Reliable information about common legal issues, written by reputable sources on 16 general topics and over 140 specific subtopics
    Updated directory of legitimate and pre-screened organizations that offer free or low-cost legal advice and representation
  • Self-Help Resource Centers Guide, L.A. Superior Court
    This link is to a flyer that provides contact information and hours of operation for all self-help centers located in the LA Superior Courts. The centers provide assistance to people who are representing themselves in court on matters including: family law, domestic violence, landlord/tenant, small claims, etc.
  • California Courts Self-Help Center
    This is a great place to start for self-help information. Website includes filing instructions and free legal information on a variety of topics including family law, small claims, protection from abuse, evictions, elder law, traffic court, etc. The "Problems with Money" section provides information about the process of a lawsuit.
  • Centro de Ayuda las Cortes de California
    Spanish language version of California Courts Online Self-Help Center
  • Virtual Self Help Law Center
    This Contra Costa County website provides information about court procedures and forms for family law, evictions, domestic violence, small claims, guardianship and traffic court. Information is also provided in Spanish.
  • California State Bar Consumer Information Pamphlets
    Information pamphlets on a variety of legal topics such as: What should I know if I'm arrested? What should I know about divorce and custody? What should I do if I have an auto accident? Etc.
  • California Department of Consumer Affairs List of Consumer Publications
    Publications on consumer legal issues, including California Tenants Book, Small Claims Court Guide, A to Z Guide to Credit Cards, Identity Theft, etc.
  • Federal Pro Se Self-Represented Litigant Clinic
    The Federal Pro Se Clinic provides free assistance to people representing themselves in Federal Court. Website provides links to court forms, Questions & Answers, and a legal glossary.
  • Public Counsel Law Center Federal Pro Se Clinic-Forms & Guides
    More federal court sample motions and guides can be found here.
  • Civil Appellate Practices and Procedures for the Self-Represented for the Second District
    Appellate Manual for the CA Court of Appeal, Second District; describes the civil appellate process from filing the Notice of Appeal through what you can do after the Court makes its decisions; includes many sample forms.
  • California Public Law Libraries
    Official website of the California Council of County Law Librarians; includes a statewide directory of California County Law Libraries; a link to AskNow, an online virtual reference program; a mini research class; and links to legal information and self-help centers.
  • Los Angeles Law Library
    Searchable catalog; links to email and chat reference; reach the reference desk at (213) 785-2513.

General Topical Resource Guides

These research guides provide a list of online and print resources on a specific topic to get a person started on their own legal research. All books listed in the guides should be available at the LA Law Library.

San Mateo County Superior Court downloadable PowerPoint Presentations and YouTube videos.

Two PowerPoint presentations: So, You're Thinking of Filing a Lawsuit? and I Have a Case in Court, Now What? walk the viewer through the process and what to expect during the course of a lawsuit. The presentations can be opened with PowerPoint or watched via the YouTube link.

 

Contact Us

Arcadia Public Library
www.ArcadiaCA.gov/Library

20 West Duarte Road
Arcadia, CA 91006
626-821-5569
ref247@ci.arcadia.ca.us

Hours:
M-Th 10-9
F-Sa 10-6

CHAT LIVE WITH A LIBRARIAN

Did we miss something?

Click below to submit a link you think would be useful on this page.

Browse Subject Guides

24/7 Homework Help
by Petra Morris - Last Updated Dec 1, 2017
Find useful web resources to assist with homework and online research.
0 views this year
Arcadia, CA Local Guide
by Yvonne Ng - Last Updated Aug 29, 2017
Arcadia is in a suburban area, located about 17 miles northeast of downtown Los Angeles. The city was incorporated in 1903.
306 views this year
Career Resources
by Yvonne Ng - Last Updated Oct 20, 2016
Resources to help in a job search.
51 views this year
English Language Learning Resources
by Melissa Camaiore - Last Updated Sep 7, 2017
English Language Learning classes, materials, and more.
167 views this year
Fiction Readers' Advisory
by David Dolim - Last Updated Jun 7, 2017
Resources to help you find that great next read!
244 views this year
Government Information
by Danielle Guerrero - Last Updated Oct 4, 2017
Resources for local, state, and federal information.
151 views this year
Health Resources
by David Dolim - Last Updated Oct 20, 2016
106 views this year
Legal Resources
by Yvonne Ng - Last Updated Jul 19, 2017
Legal research resources: reference and referral
47 views this year
Parenting
by Debbie Marks - Last Updated Oct 20, 2016
Resources for raising your children.
46 views this year
Summer Reading Program for Kids and Youth
by Petra Morris - Last Updated Jun 9, 2017
Information about the reading program and summer events for children ages 14 years and younger.
1,229 views this year
Teen Digital Media Lab
by David Dolim, Debbie Marks, Yvonne Ng - Last Updated Oct 20, 2016
Resources to help you learn how to use software available in the teen multimedia lab.
39 views this year
Teen Resources
by Debbie Marks - Last Updated Aug 12, 2017
What teens might want or need.
184 views this year
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip